• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 23 other followers

Learning to Let Go

Why Make Plans At All?

            I’m a planner.  I love to sit at my computer planning exactly how I will make something happen.  This year, I spent New Year’s Day doing just that.  I have my healthy-living plan set out for the entire year.  It includes a column for healthy eating, fitness, creativity, and spirituality.  I even split the goals into 4, thirteen-week phases.  I’m nerdy that way but, you must admit, it’s impressive.

And now I have to let it go.  Not all of it, mind you.  Just the details!

It’s not that the plan is incorrect or even has the bar set too high.  No, I made a plan that could easily be implemented under ideal conditions.  That’s the catch.  I don’t know about you but my days are rarely filled with ideal conditions.  So I did one thing differently this year. I gave myself permission to make changes. None of my plans are written in stone.

In an all-or-nothing plan, when I have to miss 3 days at the gym because work, health and family commitments come up, I may as well give up.  In my current plan, I just keep moving forward because I planned for this to take time and include setbacks.  It’s been a much better way of getting myself started.

I haven’t kept this week’s plan to eat 5 small meals each day with lots of veggies and fruits.  But I have made all of my own food this week, following healthy principals and no processed food.  So, even though I haven’t begun to lose fat in earnest, I’ve made a positive change I can incorporate in my life.

Working out has been nearly impossible this week.  A bout of insomnia, a snowstorm, and an unexpected day with my grandkids have all made an impact.  I want to fall into my old ways and simply proclaim that I have failed again but that”s not true!  I know that I can only fail if I give up.  So tonight I’ll be back at APF getting my butt kicked.  I may not get in 4 workouts this week but I will get in this one.

Next week’s goals?  1. Get to APF 4 times, 2. pack a cooler of healthy foods for work, 3. have a picnic dinner*, and 4. meditate/pray for five minutes in the morning.  I’ll keep you posted!

Sandi’s words of wisdom:  If you cling too tightly to what you have now, you won’t have a free hand to grab the unexpected gifts that come your way.  Loosen your grip!

*Yes, a picnic. I’ll turn on all the lights I can cram into my living room, turn up the thermostat to 80, put on a summer outfit and eat dinner on a blanket spread out on the floor! Why not? It does my heart good to dream a little and my husband is obviously a good sport.

