• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 23 other followers

October Motivational Contest Winner

I have always been body-aware, fitness-focused…and struggling with my weight.  The good news: I have an hourglass-shaped figure.  The bad news: I tend to have too much sand in the hourglass. Several times over the last 25 years, I’ve gone through difficult periods in my life where I lost a lot of weight through near starvation – once going from a size 16 to a 4 in only 4 months – so I knew what I could, and should, look like. But during those skinny periods, I felt too tired and weak to exercise, and lost muscle mass as well as fat. I was never fit and thin at the same time.

Though I’ve been dedicated to exercising as an avid tennis player and runner, it was frustrating to see that the hours and hours of sweat had little effect on the shape of my body.  How is it possible, I wondered, that I can run 40 miles a week but not be thin?  I was glowing with good health and perfect “numbers” in the doctor’s office, but there was just too much of me. I became resigned to the fact that maybe I was just not meant to be small, and should accept it.

Then I met someone at work who went to MABC. She had totally changed her body composition, and I was fascinated.  I talked to her almost daily about her workouts and nutrition, about “clean eating” and her lifestyle changes. But I resisted the boot camp idea, reasoning that there was nothing they could get me to do that was more intense than running for four hours straight. Then one day, she said, “You know, you’re not getting the results you want from what you’re doing.  It’s obvious they are on to something, these boot camp coaches. They know what they’re talking about. If you do what they say, it WILL WORK.  Just look at them if you need proof.”  I kept thinking about it and couldn’t get it out of my mind.

I finally joined my first MABC at Klode Park in the spring of 2009.  I could only go 3 days per week, and I didn’t do a nutrition component, but even so, I was amazed at the changes in muscle definition and strength I could see in my body after only 12 sessions. It came to an end much too soon, and I resolved to continue on my own. But I didn’t, and when the fall came, I chose to use my fitness budget to pay a health club where I could play tennis and work out over the winter.  I emerged that spring a lot poorer and no more fit than when I started.

In the spring of 2010, I heard about the Skinny Jeans challenge and although a conflict prevented me from attending the whole program (I could only make 18 sessions out of the 32), I could see that it would work. But I still didn’t really embrace the nutritional aspect because, I thought, there were too many things on the food plan that I don’t like. Instead of talking to the coaches about it and making some easy substitutions, I tried to do it “my way.”  I did generally eat less, and more mindfully, and I did lose one jeans size, which was great.  But when I was finally honest with myself, I realized that it was just an excuse, and that what I had REALLY done was make a choice: that I would rather continue eating “my way” then really change my body.

Now, I am in my second Skinny Jeans challenge. This time, I am following the plan. This time, I have no conflict with my schedule.  This time, I can do it and I will do it, with the encouragement and energy of our great coaches and this phenomenal program. No More Excuses! I will miss the last week of camp for a trip to Europe with my family, but that’s okay – I will be wearing my skinny jeans when I say “Bonjour” from the Eiffel Tower!

And she did! Congrats to Diane who just returned from her fabulous trip!

