• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 23 other followers

It it Time for Me to Take Control of the Things in Life I Can Control

I have always seen myself as an average size girl. Every few months I go through phases where I am motivated and excited to get toned and in shape…for some reason this only last a couple of weeks before I am back to my old routine. Two years ago my mom, Maggie, was diagnosed with stage four breast cancer. This has controlled the way I feel on a daily basis, some days I am dragging and tired and I don’t know why, others I feel angry that I can’t do anything about what has happened to her.

I have deiced it is time for me to take control of the things in life I can control. My appearance and self-confidence are two things I can take charge of. I am using this challenge to strengthen my self-esteem and overcome obstacles that have been weighing me down and keeping me from reaching my full potential.

~ Michelle Horkman, 2009 SLAM BAM Contest 3rd Place

